School governors are people who want to make a positive contribution to children’s education.

Governors are one of the most significant volunteer forces in the country and have an important part to play in raising school standards. The role of the governing board is absolutely key to the effectiveness of a school. Time and time again Ofsted (the national inspection body for schools) has noted that the most effective schools demonstrate effective leadership and management - including by the governing board.  


What do governors do?

School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. Governors appoint the headteacher and deputy headteacher. In some schools, the site is owned by the governing board. It is governors who hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors who work with the headteacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.


Our Governing Body is made up of the following:

1 x Headteacher Governor

3 x parent governors

1 x staff governor

1 x Local Authority governor

2 x Foundation (Trust) governors

6 x co-opted governors


Our current Governing Body

Viv Lamb - Chair of Governors, Co-opted Governor, Safeguarding Governor

Margaret Metcalfe – Co-opted GovernorVice Chair of Governors

Stephen Thomas - Local Authority Governor
Tracey Taylor - Headteacher Governor

Dawn Ridgway - Parent Governor

Claire Brown - Parent Governor

Rachel Minto - Staff Governor

Kate Lovelock– Foundation Governor

Vacancy – Foundation Governor

Judith Knowles – Co-opted Governor

John Beck – Co-opted Governor

Roger Goodwin – Co-opted Governor

Vacancy – Co-opted Governor

Stephen Thomas - Local Authority Governor

Jayne Aitken - Parent Governor


Clerk to the Governors

Marie Sharman


Committee Structures:



Finance & Staffing

John Beck (Chair)

Judith Knowles

Viv Lamb

Jayne Aitken

Tracey Taylor

Claire Brown 


Premises & Health/Safety

Viv Lamb (Chair)

Judith Knowles

Tracey Taylor

Margaret Metcalfe

Roger Goodwin


Headteacher Performance Management

Viv Lamb

Margaret Metcalfe

John Beck

Dawn Ridgway